11–>12

31 Dec

Approaching the idea of modestly concluding 2011, I could write a few words about the “main world events”: The Arab Spring; The Earthquake in Japan; The Killing of bin Laden; South Sudan; Gilad Shalit. And so on.

I could take a different approach and survey the happenings of my musical microcosmos in 2011: The concerts I’ve played in Europe, the US and Israel; The new music I’ve composed for myself to perform, as well as for the Theater in Germany; The new trio album I’ve recorded with Haggai Cohen Milo and Ziv Ravitz; And so forth.

Another optional path would be sharing my favorite albums, movies, and books of the passing year, as long as I arrange them in lists of round numbers. No one has his or her favorite nine books. They all seem to have ten.

To write about all these things, I need to think of them. But somehow I’m more compelled to think about other things.

First, the senses. All the things I’ve tasted, smelled, heard, seen and touched this year.

Then, Thoughts. Emotions. Words. Deeds. Contact with others.

Trying to remember even a grain of this wealth, I can’t help but concluding that being alive and well is a blessing of inconceivable richness.

Many of us have our fingers on machines and our eyes on screens, for large parts of the day.

I highly recommend eating great food that was made with care by yourself or another; Listening to music that is being played by living men and women right in front of your eyes, in the same room where your body is; And kissing someone.

Happy New Year.

On a different note (quite a few different notes, actually): Austrian composer Johannes Berauer has surprised me and made a great transcription of my composition ‘España’ from ‘Rockets on the Balcony’. It includes the song and my solo. Check it out. Thank you Johannes for a detailed and devoted work!

4 Responses to “11–>12”

  1. Eran Tzidkiyahu December 31, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Thanks for that, it was lovely. You should also feel lucky for your gift in music, such a cool and positive thing to have  As a kid when I was sent to the neighbor who was a piano teacher, he told my mother that maybe I should take on boxing instead – well he was right – for a time I became quit a boxer. You know dealing with the history of national movements in the Middle East is very interesting but one must take it easy, stop, and listen to music from time to time.
    Happy New Year

    • omerklein December 31, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Thanks Eran! It’s quite amazing that a music teacher not only suggested you should avoid music, but also had such a specific alternative idea as boxing. And thinking about your current profession (an intellectual type of boxing, won’t you say?), I can definitely see how music can help out.. Have a great year!

  2. sophie rozenberg January 7, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    Not only you’re gifted with music but also with writting.

    Happy new year.

    Sophie.

    • omerklein January 8, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

      Thank you Sophie! Happy new year.

What Do You Think?

