Inspiration

28 Feb

I’m still working quite intensively on the music for Lemon Tree.

In the meanwhile, here’s some incredible works of art I’ve been checking out recently:

Books:

Point Omega, Don Delillo.

Let me know if you’ve read this one. Several reviewers have described this novel as having an open ending. For me the ending is very clear, and I wonder if there’s any one out there who felt the same.

Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov

Virtuosic, strategic writing. As a side note, I don’t know a novel which makes more use of this.

Movies:

Le notti di Cabiria, Federico Fellini. With Giulietta Masina.

Masina won my heart with the help of Nino Rota.

Pierrot le fou, Jean-Luc Godard. With Anna Karina and Jean-Paul Belmondo.

Again, I read somewhere that this gorgeous film doesn’t have a plot. It actually does.

Stealing Beauty, Bernardo Bertolucci. With Liv Tyler, D.W.Moffett and Jeremy Irons.

Every single shot is beautiful. I’m trying to think of a piece of music in which every bar, or second, is of extreme beauty. Ideas?

Music:

Bird: The Complete Charlie Parker on Verve, Charlie Parker

How did he do it? Charlie Parker sounds like he has more time to plan ahead his solos than all other improvisers. And he is always so soulful.

The Music of Islam, Volume 2: Music of the South Sinai Bedouins

This album totally blew my mind last week. It contains some of the deepest, most groovy music I’ve heard. NO mannerisms.

The Music of Islam, Volume 4: Music of the Arabian Peninsula – Doha, Qatar

Also great.

Chaos and Creation in the Backyard, Paul McCartney

I love this album. I read that Producer Nigel Godrich told Sir Paul to ditch his band and play most instruments himself. Brilliant move. He also didn’t like some of the songs McCartney brought in and had the balls to tell him that. They made a great record together. This song is really special. Check out the strings at 1:10.

One Response to “Inspiration”

  1. Dodi June 3, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    Omer – I love your blog!

    I always think that Ravel’s ‘Ma mere l’oye’, actually the last part of it, ‘Le jardin feerique’ is all beauty but not only that, it is about beauty itself. I always think that beauty is pretty but truth is beautiful yet that movement (especially the return to C major!) is where and when truth and beauty become one…
    dodi

What Do You Think?

